Illuminate. Discover. Change.

Plumsock Prize

The Plumsock Prize was established in 1990 by the Society with a grant from the Plumsock Fund in Indianapolis.  It is designed to encourage good writing on psychoanalytic subjects.  Submissions are judged and the prize administered by a committee of members appointed by the Board of Directors.

The Traditional Plumsock Prize is open to current candidates and to members who have graduated within the past five years.

The Senior Plumsock Prize is available to any member of the Society who has not previously had a paper accepted in a juried psychoanalytic publication.

Prizes of $1,000 will be awarded at graduation each year, accompanied by a plaque.


Traditional Plumsock Prize Winners



Kerry Moore, PhD

“Theatre of the Hole: Encounter and Its Psychic (K)nots”



Marie A. Murphy, MSW

“The Dilemma of Separation”

Roman Yumatov, MA

“Bisexuality and Its Vicissitudes”



Debra Neumann, PhD

“Psychoanalysis in Cyberspace”



Christian J. Churchill, PhD

“Treating the Subject: Toward Common Ground in Psychoanalysis and Ethnography”



Michael Krass, PhD

“Fear and Loathing on the Couch: The Intersection of Managed Care and Masochism”



Nancy Cromer-Grayson, CSW

“The Opening and Closing of Doors: Chronic Syntonic Acting out”



Geoff Goodman, PhD

“Object Relations and Internal Working Models: A new Model for Understanding Their Structure and Function”



Geoff Goodman, PhD

“Mother’s Object Representations and Internal Working Models of Their Children: Experts on Each Construct Agree on their Conceptual Equivalence”



Kerry Malawista, CSW

“Conversion Symptoms and Psychoanalysis in a Second Language: Some Thoughts on Their Relationship in the

Analysis of Mr. B.”

Andrea Hadge, PhD

“A Report of an Unusual Case of Incest between a Mother and a Daughter”



Stephanie Kiseluk, PhD

“The Disenchantment of Freud: Construction in the Case of Emmy von N.”

John Rosegrant, PhD

“The Anal World of a Six-Year-Old Boy.”



Shelley Rockwell, PhD

“Reality and the Unconscious”

Phillida B. Rosnick, PhD

“The Imaginary Father”



Joel Whitebook, PhD

“No Longer Master, But Not Yet Homeless: The Autonomous Ego and the Recentered Subject”


Senior Plumsock Prize Winners



Susan Finkelstein, LCSW

“Psychosomatic Illness in a Claustro-Agoraphobic Patient”

Raymond S. Hoffman, MD

“Now I Lay Me Down to Sleep”



Ellen Sinkman, CSW

“The Creation of a Beautiful Self: Pygmalion on and off the Couch.”

Molly Jones-Quinn, PhD

“Chronic Genital Pain Serving as a Sadomasochistic Compromise Formation.”



Michael Schur, PhD

“The Facts of Mind: Thoughts on the Taxonomy of Unconscious Fantasy with Special Reference to the ‘New View’ in




Judith Lutzer, CSW

“Bloomsbury-Psychoanalytic Connection”‘

Frieda Plotkin, CSW

“The Impact of Treatment of the Older Patient on the Analyst”

Nancy Wolf, CSW

“Thinking About Reverie in Bion’s Model of the Mind”


Plumsock Committee

Helen K. Gediman, Chair, Elizabeth Fritsch, Harvey Kaplan, Kerry Malawista, Batya Monder, Arnold Richards, Joann Turo

Share This Page: